Geography meets Science

This week I was experimenting with a kit from Chibitronics called the Circuit Sticker Sketchbook. With this book, I have learned a smidgen of circuitry using copper foil tape and tiny LED lights. Using a 3V battery and some creativity, it is possible to create some very interesting things.

This weekend I have chosen to challenge myself to see how I could integrate this new found knowledge into my teaching. I teach 5th grade ELA and S.S. so you can see how I was at quiet the crossroads. Teaching about circuitry and connections using this kit seems to be a science lesson. However, I took it and finagled it into a geography lesson.

First, I had to learn how to use the kit. Below, you can see the learning process in a slideshow of using the kit.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once I completed the “How to” phase of the process, I began to allow my inner teacher to take over. I thought to myself, why not turn this into a geography lesson? I could draw a map, and put the circuitry under it and important spots of the map would light up. So that is exactly what I did. However, I used some repurposed tools. I ventured into the dark depths of the mystery closet in my apartment and found the lid to an old box and sketchbook paper. The rest is history!

1- Pick a state or country
2- Print or draw said location and map important locations.
3- Circle the parts you need LED lights to shine behind.
4- Complete circuitry on back of the sketch paper.
5- Tape to box lid
6- Set up battery and let the learning begin!

You can see a brief description of my Geography meets Science exploration below!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lH_I2EdMHvk&feature=youtu.be

Leave a comment